From murder to graft, all CPI(M) candidates have criminal cases against them

The CPI(M)’s list of candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections has persons with multiple criminal charges against them. P Jayarajan also called the Pol Pot of Kannur facing several murder cases against him. They are carefully orchestrated killings of RSS Zilla Shareerik Shikshan Pramukh Kathiroor Manoj,  RSS Koothupparamba Taluk Sahakaryavah P.O. Mohanan and lynching of Muslim League worker Ariyill Shukoor.

Jayarajan has been escaping from the legal proceedings despite his involvement in several cases including that of physical attack against the police stations! His escape had been materialised, thanks to the vested interests of the CPM brass. There are allegations about his involvement in the brutal and inhuman murder of rebel CPM leader TP Chandrasekharan a few years before.  TP’s village Onchiyam is a part of the Lok Sabha constituency Jayarajan contests!

CPM-backed Independent candidate for Ponnani LS constituency is PV Anwar MLA. He has been taking a consistent public stand that he does not respect any court order. He did not comply with the orders to demolish the check-dams in Cheenkannippara,  permanent threats to the life of the tribals. Since he enjoys the total support of the CPM  he did not bother to demolish the check dams, which he has constructed in the area for the amusement park he runs there. The revenue authorities were transferred because they reported that check dams are illegal.

Idukki’s sitting MP Joyce George has been holding revenue lands in Kottakkambur since the last several years. The ‘brave’ revenue officers met with the same fate as faced by their counterparts who reported Anvar’s check-dams.

PK Sreemathi was exposed for appointing her own daughter-in-law as her personal staff while she was the health minister in V.S. Achuthanandan-led LDF ministry which ruled the state from 2006 to 2011. She was a member of the commission appointed by CPM to enquire into the sex scandal of P. K Sasi MLA, prominent CPM leader from Palakkad. And, she failed to ensure justice to the victim girl.

In Chalakkudy sitting MP and matinee idol, Innocent has been fielded again, despite stiff opposition from the CPM rank and file. The workers expressed their hatred and anger, towards the candidate, to both CM Pinarayi Vijayan and state secretary Kodiyeri Balakrishnan.

Kottayam district secretary V.N. Vasavan is another candidate. He is still in the clouds of doubts in connection with the funds he allegedly collected from a liquor bar owner for Nayanar Smaraka Academy, the memorial for the late former CM and the veteran CPM leader E.K. Nayanar.

A.M. Arifa MLA is the CPM candidate for Alappuzha. He is the accused in a case for attacking a police station and ‘liberating’ his comrades who were arrested for attacking police. He led the Anti-Vaccine Movement in his constituency as a part of the fundamentalist movement.

Pathanamthitta candidate Veena George MLA faces a case in Supreme court for misusing religion for her maiden contest to the Assembly.

About the author


Leave a Comment